Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Home Community of Valencia Province of Alicante

Province of Alicante

Spanish News, Property for sale, Sport and Information for the Province of Alicante, Community of Valencia, Spain.

Alicante province is on the Mediterranean Sea in eastern Spain, on the southern part of the Valencian Community. It is home to the cities of Alicante, Elche, and Orihuela.

Alicante is bordered by the provinces of Murcia on the southwest, Albacete on the west, Valencia on the north, and the Mediterranean Sea and Costa Blanca (White Coast) on the east. The province is named after its capital, which is the city of Alicante.

Alicante ranks as the 5th most populous province in Spain after Madrid, Barcelona, and Valencia. In 2018 it had a population of 1,838,819 inhabitants. The largest cities in the Province of Alicante in 2018 were Alicante (population of 334,757), Elche (population of 230,112), Torrevieja (population of 101,792), Orihuela (population of 86,164), Benidorm (population of 71,034), Alcoy (population of 61,552), Elda (population of 55,168), and San Vicente del Raspeig (population of 53,126).

Alicante province has the largest ratio of foreigner population among all Spanish provinces. There are 446,368 foreigners registered in the province (and many more unregistered foreigners), which represents 23.6% of the total population. Of the 141 municipalities that make up the province, foreign population is above 25% in 54 municipalities, and above 50% in 19 municipalities. The municipalities with the largest concentration of foreign residents include San Fulgencio (80%), Rojales (74%), Benitatxell (69.8%), Algorfa (69.7%), Llíber (67%), Teulada (65.5%), Daya Vieja (64.4%); San Miguel de Salinas (64.3%), Calp (62.8%), Els Poblets (61.6%), Alcalalí (60.8%), Benijófar (58.5%), L’Alfàs del Pi (56.6%), Orba (55%), Xàbia (54%), Torrevieja (53.5%), Murla (52%), Fondó (51.7%), and Benidoleig (50%).